Far too easily impressed

Very interesting post by Ross Wolfe calling for more argument and less posturing on Facebook, and in theoretical discussion ingeneral.

The Charnel-House

Image:Pieter Brueghel
“The Flatterers” (1592)

.
Earlier today, I tried to make my way through this rather long, theory-heavy Facebook thread. It popped up on my feed and some of the first few comments seemed pretty interesting. You know: it concerned concepts and authors like totality, status quo ante, the proletariat, Jameson. Figured I could maybe dig some of the Deleuze and communization stuff, even if I agreed with it less. Then all of a sudden all these theoretical accretions and academic encrustations began to glom onto the original topics under discussion at this crazy, exponential rate — sometimes as backstory or context, but more often as just syncretistic add-ons and meaningless whirligigs, an intellectually promiscuous process of addition, lunatical topsy-turvydom, etc.

Maybe I just didn’t know enough of these theories or theorists, but I don’t think that’s it. Really, I’m not anti-theory at all; I’m good at it…

View original post 1,130 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

