LATOUR’S PLURALISM vs SPECULATIVE REDUCTIONISM

I have done quite a lot of negative critique of Latour’s “AN INQUIRY INTO MODES OF EXISTENCE on my blog, and the previous post on my “ambivalence” towards Latour’s AIME system is one-sided in that I give a concise summary of my critique, but I only allude to my later more positive posts. My attitude became more positive when some speculative realists criticised Latour as being guilty of anti-realist relativism, during what was briefly called the “pluralism wars” on the blogosphere. I came out strongly in Latour’s defence. Despite this more favorable reading I continue to feel ambivalent, and I think that there are important conceptual problems with his ontological treatise. A summary of my positive engagement can be found here:

or also on academia.edu here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

