Stengers on the pharmakon, anticapitalist struggle and creation in the face of the ecological crisis

Translation of a very interesting text by Isabelle Stengers.

Intra-Being

The following is a passage I just translated from Stengers’ Au temps des catastrophes: Résister à la barbarie qui vient. Looking back over the last few years, since I have been engaged in some more serious explorations of philosophy and politics, this is a book that I have returned to again and again in those times where my energy is low, my worklife seems to have taken over and I’m struggling to make time for the theoretical, practical and praxical engagements that matter to me. I’m honestly not into hero worship, but Stengers seems to offer such militant wisdom that it’s hard not to feel a certain sense of admiration. In this passage, Stengers brings up the question of the pharmakon and its relation with both struggle and creation in the face of the ecological crisis, which she invokes through her own twist on the figure of Gaia. Systematically anticapitalist…

View original post 1,867 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stengers on the pharmakon, anticapitalist struggle and creation in the face of the ecological crisis

  1. landzek says:

    Btw: a bit ago. You had a post that I think u translated from ‘christo fiction’ since my French learning is going nowhere, do you happen to have any parts if it translated that I could read? Since I have the book in French. Lol.

    Like

  2. landzek says:

    And– I just read This post: omg. That’s all for now🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

