(Auto)biography and Derrida II (finished reading)

angelaroothaan

It created a trip down memory lane, to read the Derrida biography. At first because I saw the rebelliousness of some of my generation in the 70ties as the echoes of the anti-traditionalist choices of the young Derrida and his likes around 1950. Reading the chapters up to the eigthies, I was accompanied by memories of my first boyfriend, who studied French literature at first, and then followed me into philosophy. I saw him reading, always (and me being annoyed by it) – the whole of Proust, but also many authors unknown to me, and figuring prominently in ‘Derrida’: Philippe Sollers, Jean Genet, and more. He wrote his master’s thesis on Derrida, and now I am certain that the name of Agacinski (Sylviane, the unofficial second woman in Derrida’s life between 1975 and 1984) was also mentioned in the conversations between his supervisor and him. I wasn’t interested in biographical…

View original post 1,077 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to (Auto)biography and Derrida II (finished reading)

  1. dmf says:

    hope yer conference went well, any interest in returning to 3Ecologies with us?
    http://syntheticzero.net/2014/11/25/proposals-for-s_z-study-group

    Like

Leave a Reply

